Tags

, , , ,

Trish’s daily schedule for the past two months:

  1. Wake up.
  2. Eat.
  3. Sleep.
  4. Eat.
  5. Play video games/listen to music/blog/write.
  6. Sleep.
Being a teenager sucks sometimes. Adults assume that you are unruly and annoying, you’re awkward, and your life is dominated by eating, sleeping, and doing pointless tasks.
It’s totally safe to say that the Lazy Song has been my anthem for the summer. Bruno Mars struck a chord in the lives of adolescents everywhere with that one.
Okay. I am about to admit something utterly embarrassing. Ready? I spend more than half my day in bed. Ew. I know. Get into bed at 10 or 11 PM with the intention of sleeping early “this time”, get bored so I tinker with the iPad until 3 AM, start to wonder “man, it’s pretty late. I should sleep…”, lay in bed for another twenty minutes until I fall asleep, wake up at around noon.
As to everything, there are pros and cons. In this particular situation, I think more cons. But, trust me, I’m going somewhere with this.
Cons    
  • I feel like a total piece of dog poo in the morning.
  • You waste most of your day, which, if you watch Phineas and Ferb, totally goes against all their mantras.
  • School days…
  • If someone says they want to do something at 10 AM, you reply with, “Oh my gosh. WHY SO EARLY?!?!”
Despite those feelings of being a failure at carpe diem-ing, there are reasons I like staying awake in the wee hours of the night.
Pros
  • It is when I think the best.
There is something about the complete darkness and silence that charges my mind. Most of my songs come from not being able to sleep. Heck, I wrote a song about nightmares.
With the night comes no distractions, no worries for that day. It you and your thoughts. It can get quite scary sometimes. But it’s okay. I have my stuffed ninja bear to protect me.
What do you think about in those few minutes before you drift off to dreamland?
Sweet dreams,
Trish
