Tags

, , , , ,

As the school year nears its end, the whispers of summer get louder and louder in my always-listening ear. Do you know what summer means? Free time, is what it means! And what does free time mean? Not swimming, not park-going, not basking in the sweet fact that I can sleep in until 2 PM…

READING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I loooooooooooooooooove books. And I guess I can say I’ve read quite a bit of ’em (though not as much as one of my friends… She can finish two 300 page novels in a freaking day). Naturally, I’ve found what I like and don’t like. I’m actually quite picky when it comes to books. But every once in a while, I come across a book that is just so beautiful it’s life-changing, and I’m about to share those books with you!

Before we jump into it, let’s establish our rating scale. Now, all of the books I am about to mention are AMAZING, but there are different levels of amazing, right? I will rate these books on a scale of 1-10 feels.

feels noun, usually used in plural form: an immensely strong emotion caused by the pure awesomeness of a thing (often book, movie, song, etc.); the feeling that compels you to roll on the floor, make unintelligible noises, and thank a higher power for the beauty that is in a given thing

Got it? Here we go!

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is hands down my favorite book of all time… Well, at least for now–though probably will be for a while. This one’s tough to beat.

TFiOS is actually quite simple, plot-wise. The story is a love story about two teenagers who meet through a cancer support group. But I promise you, this isn’t another one of those teeny-bopper chick lit novels. John Green gives the characters such amazing depth and maturity that it’s hard to believe that they’re not even 20 years old yet. This book has made me laugh, cry, squeal… Basically think of any weird noise that can come out of a human’s mouth, I made it.

Now, John Green is invariably one of the coolest people on this planet. Not only does he write beautiful books, he makes awesome YouTube videos with his brother, and tries in every way to make the world less sucky.

My goodness. My words can never fully encapsulate the beauty of John Green and this book. For this reason, The Fault in Our Stars doesn’t even have a place on the scale of feels. It MADE feels.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: MASTER OF FEELS

This next book is called The Shack and it’s written by William P. Young. 

Seriously, I would love to meet Mr. Young and give him a great big hug.

The Shack, if you want to label it this way, is essentially a Christian book. But this book explores spirituality and God in a truly unique and eye-opening way.

This book is about a man named Mack, a father who had recently lost his child. He receives a note inviting him to the shack where his daughter was murdered. Intrigued and a bit angry, Mack makes his way to the shack and finds God as well as closure.

The portrayal of God in this book has truly changed my life. Even if you aren’t Christian, I urge you to read this book because it is a beautiful story nonetheless.

The Shack by William P. Young: 10 out of 10 feels

For a while, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky was my favorite book. But that was before I read The Fault in Our Stars.

POBAW is a coming of age story told in the form of letters. Charlie’s narratives of his experiences through high school are so honest and raw. And the things he says… My goodness. There are so many poignant lines in this book. Because of that, my copy is a green and pink hi-lighter frenzy.

I love this book with all my heart. It’s so powerful, yet simple, as many powerful things are.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: 9 out of 10 feels

My father gave me Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach for Christmas, and I can honestly say that it is one of the best gifts I have ever received.

This short little story chronicles the journey of a seagull (Jonathan Livingston Seagull) as he figures out the meaning of life and then goes beyond. Being the dreamer that I am, this book spoke to the core of me.

Being only 91 pages, Jonathan Livingston Seagull was simple and beautiful. Though this wouldn’t necessarily fulfill my need for a full-fledged story, the message of this book is one that can’t be ignored. Not to mention, the photography included is so pretty!

Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach: 8 out of 10 feels

Unfortunately, I do not own a copy of this last book I’m about to talk about…so sorry about the lack of a photo. The final book on my list is I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak, who also wrote The Book Thief.

This book. This book. You know something is inspirational if it makes you want to go out in the world and DO SOMETHING.

I Am the Messenger is about a young man, Ed, trying to figure out what to do with his life. He mysteriously receives a playing card bearing three addresses. Ed proceeds to go to these addresses and performs tasks that help out those that need it.

My goodness. I did such a bad job at trying to explain the story, but trust me. This book is wonderful.

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak: 10 out of 10 feels

Happy reading 🙂
Trish

